Another running victory!


So.

YEP!

I did it! I ran 10 miles! It was hard!! But not all that bad.

The 4th, 5th, 6th, 9th, and 10th miles were the worst. But other than that I could kind of just get into the mode and not think about it.

Also, I got a horrible cramp on the way back (I ran 5 miles up and then turned around and ran back) and it was HORRIBLE! Sometimes, I get cramps but this was like…gut-wrenching! I had to stop running and massage the cramp and it was AWFUL! But, that was the only cramp I got the whole time.

I stopped at the 5-mile mark to catch my breath and stuff a granola bar down. I hate eating while I am running cause I can barely breathe and eating a half-frozen granola bar doesn’t really help anything…but it says in all the great running magazines that you HAVE to bring a snack on long runs so your body has something to burn off. However, as much as I HATE eating during runs I LOVE to drink water. We always bring ice-cold water in bottles on our runs (my mom rides her bike and has a basket with all our supplies 🙂 ) and it is like HEAVEN! But I always end up drinking too much of it and then I can hear it sloshing around inside my stomach while I run..which is interesting!! 🙂

I love to run, I love to run, I love to run!!!

And I really felt like I had accomplished something after my run. After all, I wanted to run the WHOLE thing and to run it in a pace of 9 minutes! I ran it at an average pace of 8:56 min/mile and (for the most part) ran the whole think without stopping…minus the halfway rest stop and my cramp fiasco.

So, overall, it was a pretty succesful run!

Nothing to be worried about, nothing at all! 🙂

I’m running that half-marathon in 2 hours. This is what I have been training for and I will not settle for any more than that!!!

(DO you like my self pep talks??)

One thought on “Another running victory!

  1. Kate says:

    GIRL. Congratulations. I was fifteen for my first half and it was HARD–the training, the tiredness,…well, you know about all that 🙂 But it was so worth it and so, so fun to finish. I think it’s amazing that you’re doing it. Keep it up and keep posting!

Leave a Reply

