Today is Thursday


Before I start this post for real I just want to recap my past Thursday morning runs.

Ok, done.

See, My Thursdays are my long morning runs- meaning I run 5-6 miles on those days. Most normal people don’t feel like waking up early and running that far. I am a normal person. Secondly, these past few Thursdays have been cold and/or rainy.

I like to run in the rain and I am gonna have to run in the cold… but together, tha’s just not my cup of tea.

However, this morning, I dragged my sorry self out of bed and flumped into my running clothes and down the stairs. You may think that “flump” is not a legitimate word. However, if you ever see me flumping down the stairs at 6 in the morning you will understand.

Between you and me, I was really hoping that my mom and/or dad would say it was too cold, wet, dark, and rainy to go running. They have done that before but not today.

“Get gloves and the cellphone before you go!”

“Do you want a raincoat?”

Darn. I guess I’m going running.

So, my complete outfit consisted of my running pants, I ♥ Hollywood t-shirt, hot pink jacket, and a huge red raincoat. And a green beanie and mismatched gloves. It was quite a sight!

But I ran 5 miles. And I am so glad I did! This is my brain:

“I am running 5 miles.”

“No, maybe I’ll only run 4 miles..that’ll be enough exercise…”

“Ugh, I might as well just tack on the extra mile, I’ll be mad at myself if I don’t.”

Sometimes, I actually think about interesting things but that’s on my easy runs…and when I say easy, I mean EZ as in 3 miles almost walking or something like that.

Otherwise, I am just in the zone!!

However, I really needed that run today! Thursdays are my super busy days and sometimes I freak out a little bit cause I have some of my hardest classes today…but my run really calms me down and prepares me for the day.

One of the things I love about running is that when I am finished with my run, I don’t care about ANYTHING!! All my problems don’t seem so important anymore. And I always feel like I have accomplished something! Which I have.

Kinda.

2 thoughts on “Today is Thursday

  1. I never regret finishing a run, but I always regret cutting one short. (Hope I can remember this when I head out for a long run tomorrow am!)

  2. apieceofreese says:

    Love that you pushed through. I am NOT a runner, and today I pushed through running my first mile ever. (Yes, only one mile. Haha.) Still feels great to know I did it though. 🙂

    I can only hope that one day I get up to 5 miles on a Thursday morning like you!

Leave a Reply

