The Day Before: How to prepare for your very first half


FUN THINGS TO DO THE DAY BEFORE YOUR FIRST HALF-MARATHON:

1. Get sick.

2. Read 10 gajillion books.

3. Sleep.

4. Feel a little better.

5. Miss a party. 😦

6. Get excited about running the half-marathon.

Yeah, I got that list from www.claires-life.com which exists nowhere but inside of my head.

Last night, I got a sore throat. So typical for me, to always get sick for the main events. (It’s a christmas miracle when I’m not sick for christmas) I wenty to bed at 9 and got somewhere around 11 hours of sleep. Wake up, take a shower, barf. All in a pre-race day for Claire. 😛

So, what did I do today?

No, I did not got on my 1.5 pre-race run.

No, I did not go to Walgreen’s to buy marker eyeliner and a bday gift for my friend.

No, I did not got to a costume party.

I read The Help and a bunch of other books. I slept. I fretted about my race. I talked to my BESTY who totally knows how to cheer me up. I read somemore. I fretted some more. I thought about hwo depressing it would be if I didn’t get to run my long-awaited race.

I went on the laptop…. a special thing I only get to do when I’m sick!! And looked through emails!! I got 2 from the half-marathon and if I was iffy about running it before then I was completely confirmed now!

Yes, I’m sick

Yes, I’m running that half-marathon.

I will be high on endorphins and truly runner atmosphere is the best atmosphere!!

I doubt I will finish in 2 hours. 😦 Oh well, there’s always next time!

Mostly, Iam super duper excited!!!

I will have TONS of pictures!!

Ready to rock this thing!!!!!

Yes, I am in my bed and have been all day. Don’t let that trick you!!!! I am tough!!! 🙂 Oh yeah!!! 😉

( This is me pumping myself up for tomorrow!!!)

It’s fun being me

4 thoughts on “The Day Before: How to prepare for your very first half

  1. I’m running a half tomorrow too, and will think of you. You’ll have a great time and probably do better than you think you will. Just don’t forget to cut your toenails!!

  2. Lili says:

    GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CLAIRE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOOT! also, the Cardinals just won the world series. bahahaha. I am an excited girl. 😉

  3. Abigail says:

    Ah! Nothing gets us down! We are tough! We shower in our own sweat, and tears, and blood, and barf. 😉

Leave a Reply

