I run for FUN!


When I was training for my half-marathon, I used a Runner’s World plan that I got from their magazine at the library, copied it, and hung it on my wall.

Perhaps, it was illegal but it got me through my half-marathon with only minor dying. 🙂

So, then someone recommended Hal Higdon who I had never heard of, but is, apparently, famous for all these running plans he makes.

My new goal being getting fast, I decided to print out an advanced 5K program. This you all know. That was last week.

I followed the plan for a whole week! And then I stopped.

Why?

Because I run for fun. During the weekend, I was supposed to do a 4-mile run and then a 60-minute run. I would have no problem with this except that I felt it was a “must”: one more thing I had to do that would take up precious saturday/sunday time.

So, I quit.

I decided, if I want to run faster, then I should…run faster.

Wow. Big breakthrough here!!

Anyway, this morning I went for a run against my own will (well, half of it since the other half of me forced the whole of me to go outside and freeze my butt off… 🙂 ).

It was hard. I ran my first mile at a 7-minute pace and my second mile was probably a 7:30 minute pace and my last mile a 8-8:30 minute pace. I’m not really sure cause my Garmin ran out of batteries. Whoops. 🙂 Anyway, I will get faster. Just not by doing sprints and long runs and short runs on the appointed days.

When I run, I will run

fast.

11 thoughts on “I run for FUN!

  1. Reese @ Reese's Resolution says:

    I can’t even imagine a 7 minute mile. You ARE fast! To me at least… haha 🙂 I think it’s awesome that you want to run just because you love it.

  2. Nathan McDaniels says:

    The comic? The first pane makes sense cause it is a running blog, second one is just the information and invitation, third pane doesn’t make sense, unless it is supposed to be people commenting and discussing the post. Anywho, running is fun. Especially when you can do it fast and leave your older bro behind you. HA!

  3. david thrasher says:

    Wow……fascinating

Leave a Reply

