First day back on the job for me.

I was in a foul mood. Correction: foul foul foul. Another correction: I am…

You know, the problem with bad moods is that no matter how long they last you never really feel better. You just keep wanting to be in a bad mood. You go around and growl at someone and then it feels so good that you go snarl at two more people.

Is that just me? I doubt it.

Anyways, coming back from a week-long sickness to finals, speech-memorizing, geometry…it’s not fun. It’s stressful and grumpy. And today, I lay on the couch and told my mom that frankly, I’m sick of it all. I think we all are. It’s hard to come back from a long two-week break when you have no obligations. But to come back from that to my life, and to be behind on school, and to have a big test, and to have a speech tournament in a month, it’s stress.

You know most kids get a whole week for finals. They take a final and then they go home. Me? I’m home-schooled. Things are different for me. I squeeze my finals into my normal life. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH.

Have you ever read Surviving the Applewhites? If you haven’t I suggest you do because it is one of the best books I have ever read. Anyway, it’s about this eccentric, artistic family who home-school and they all do their own thing. One of the girls loves to dance so she spends hours in their home dance studio, perfecting the play Ophelia. That’s her school! Another boy shuts himself into his room and creates masterpieces. One of the girls who craves a schedule, makes a whole school curriculum for herself. These kids live far away from the rest of the world. They’re not stressed out. All their school is in one place.

Sometimes I wish my life could be like that. Just in one place. But I know if it was I would die of boredom. So then I wish that my life could be all over the place, just “the place” would be closer. For example, instead of driving an hour to Speech, we would drive 15 minutes. Instead of driving 30 minutes to Math Team and 30 minutes to band and then 50 minutes home, we would drive 10 minutes to Math Team, then 5 minutes to band and then 12 minutes home. Are you getting my idea? Like I would have a world, it would just be smaller.

But then I’d probably complain that everything was within 20 minutes of my house and I never got out to see the world. I wouldn’t know that The Chapel existed or that at The Arboretum in Barrington they have a Panera (with a private party room), a Charming Charlie, a creperie, and a (over-priced) chocolate/gelato place that gives out free samples of those handmade chocolates (also overpriced). I wouldn’t know my wonderful friends the Laws or the Dimoulis’.

If my world was infinitely smaller, I wouldn’t have memorized the route from one church (math) to another church (music). I wouldn’t know the Borows or the Ledfords or the girl- who-sits-next-to-me-whose-last-name-I-don’t-know.

And I believe that even if my world was smaller, my life would be just as hectic. As is proven through my Mondays and Wednesdays. If I took out all my activities on those days, I wouldn’t see my friends the Burkes, or my favorite kids Myla, Micah, and Adam and their mom (who rocks).

So maybe I should just shut my mouth and live with the craziness for a time.

Are you in that CRAZY tired-of-winter-ready-for-spring time too???

5 thoughts on “

  1. Nathan McDaniels says:

    Well regardless of whether I am actually ready for a change, I am about to get a serious one. I don’t know if I will catch another of your posts, but keep it up.

  2. Nathan McDaniels says:

    excited? more than slightly scared and definitely nervous. Thanks and you’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

