So, today I ran six miles.

It was a really pretty day for running!! πŸ™‚ The sun was out, it was cool. The wind was a LITTLE strong but… I didn’t really mind! Not nearly as bad as it had been on Monday.

I told myself to just go slow because I wanted to run at least six, maybe seven, miles. Apparently, slow is no longer in my running vocabulary.

Okay that sounds REALLY stuck-up. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I have a certain amount of energy pent up inside of me and I just have to run my heart out until it’s gone. I have no pace meter whatsoever.

Anyways, so I ran my six mile run and… PR’d. Again.

I do realize that I am coming across as kind of bragg-y. But here’s why I am so thrilled about this. See, there are those runners who are always improving. And they are like amazing runners who run fast for long distances. Yea.

I’m not those runners.

At all.

I kinda hope that someday I will be. I mean, even though I’m improving, I’m not AMAZING.

Anyways, so then after my half-marathon (obviously a BIG improvement over my start where 1.5 miles may as well have been a half-marathon), I declined. Rapidly. So, I realized in January that this spring was going to be “catching-up” time to the rest of the running world. I mean, this past winter was an improvement for ME cause I didn’t run at all two winters ago.

So, my point in all this is that I wasn’t expecting to be fast. Or to be able to run far. I do realize that it’s April now. So technically I’ve had enough time to train for a half. I mean I COULD be farther along. But I knew that wasn’t going to happen.

I am just so psyched by how much better I have gotten, BETTER than I ever imagined I would be. Β And I gush about it on here! πŸ™‚

So, just to clear things up, I’m not trying to be boastful (well, maybe just a little!! I mean, I need SOMEONE to appreciate my awesome ness!!! πŸ˜‰ Just kidding…) or condescending. I am just… “alerting you all” to the facts of my running career. YEAH!! πŸ™‚ That’s what I’m doing!

How’s your running going?

6 thoughts on “

  1. Ben Ziegler says:

    Right after my last comment, I went and ran 3 miles in 19 minutes!

  2. Looks to me like you already have a running career πŸ™‚ and In my humble opinion, You are already an excellent runner!!!! Keep it up!

  3. runningcorgi says:

    You’re awesome, Claire!!

  4. ajsilbs says:

    Claire, what an awesome blog, ad GREAT job with your running! I know exactly what you’re going through. I would’ve never signed up for my half if not for my amazing fiancee, and I would’ve never gotten so close (Ran 10 miles today!) if not for Team in Training through LLS. You’re way ahead of the game and SHOULD feel proud. Only 1% of people in the world are distance runners, and we’re banging on the door of their club. They’re waiting for us!

Leave a Reply

