Great Run Today!


I ran five miles today!

I am so thrilled about that. I have to say that the ONLY reason that I ran that distance is because I kept thinking, “Give my best to God! Give my BEST to God!” And then, “Give everything left inside of me!” πŸ™‚

I set out wanting to run a minimum of five miles. Truthfully, I wanted to run seven miles but I knew that was really unrealistic! πŸ™‚

So I decided to run five miles at an eight minute pace. Nothing super difficult. Just slow and easy.

Of course, if there is one thing you should know from reading my blog it is that “claire”Β andΒ “pace”Β do NOT ever go in the same sentence, unless there is a big fat CANNOT right in there with it! πŸ™‚ So, naturally, I did not run an eight minute pace the entire time.

My first mile I ran at a 7:16 pace and then slowed down to a 7:52 pace for my second mile. My third and fourth miles were 8:01 and 8:02 and my last mile was 7:46.Β 

So I am really pleased with these results because I have been having a tough time with running lately.

The other great thing is that I actually enjoyed it.

I really wanted this run to be enjoyable more than fast or long. I just wanted to enjoy it.

And I actually did enjoy it. I mean it also killed me. Right now my legs hurt and my back is sore but it was one of the best runs ever.

Because I wasn’t freaking about time. I was just running and singing along to my iPod (old Britney Spears–no joke)!Β 

I got bored of doing the poll thing. I realized that was a very horrible idea. When a CERTAIN person (!!) voted that I should run five miles on a day that I was feeling very un-athletic. No one knows what I feel like on a given day so no one can know how far I am capable of running except for me. Does that make sense?

Regardless, I decided having you all decide my mileage totally took away the whole “free-ness” of running that attracts me to the sport so much! Moving on.

Today was a beautiful day for running too, which always adds to the enjoyment of the exercise by about 50%. I thought I might be running in the rain because it has been dark and cloudy around here for a couple of days but it was seriously perfect weather. No wind. No beating sun. Fairly cool. A little humid. Just lovely.Β 

How’d your exercise go today?

5 thoughts on “Great Run Today!

  1. You got to run yesterday lucky and 5 miles wow that great! I was longing to run, but had to do some work 😦 and chop up a motor cycle frame with a saws-all (I admit that was fun however). Hope your legs stop hurting soon and good luck on your next run:)

  2. Isabel says:

    Good job keeping up with your regular excercise!
    I walked 2 miles yesterday.. that was my workout. Haha sad, huh?

    Keep it up- you’re doin great!! πŸ˜€

  3. Ben Ziegler says:

    It rained HARD today, so I didn’t run my usual 4 miles. I’m planning on doing a 5k this spring. Are you doing the Run For The Stars?

Leave a Reply

